Seattle, Washington, USA

I am sailing tomorrow Monday, September 26th on a cruise to and around Australia.  The itinerary is shown on this graphic.

 

P6S52F[1]

I took the opportunity to visit SeattleI arrived at the airport and took the light rail downtown to my hotel. It is very convenient and costs only $3.00 but you have to walk about 1 km through the airport parking to reach it. After checking into my hotel, my first stop was the famous Pike’s Place Market, which is a long market full of craft boutiques, flower vendors (photo) and restaurants of all descriptions. Sunday Morning I took the light rail to the Asian Art Museum. This is an excellent museum for aficionados of Asian arts. They continually change the exhibitions and apparently always have a special one. Right now, it is about the colour Indigo and its use over the centuries in textiles and decorative arts. The clouds of the early morning disappeared and so I went next to the Seattle Needle to the observation deck from which you get spectacular views of Seattle and surroundings. I have one that shows the Holland America ship,the Amsterdam, on which I have sailed before, including a cruise starting from Seattle in 2010. I will sail on the Maasdam from the same cruise terminal tomorrow(photos). The ticket to the Needle was combined with one to Chihuly Garden and Glass located next door. This is a fabulous exhibit of blown glass. It is definitely worth a visit (photos). The next stop is Vancouver and as I do not plan to sight see, I will not likely post. My next post will be Honolulu on October 3rd.

IMG_0364 IMG_0027IMG_0042IMG_0034IMG_0049IMG_0053IMG_0090

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seattle, Washington, USA

  1. daviddapaget says:

    “There she goes again”!…

    Wishing you a wonderful trip, Leslie, and looking forward to your further postings.

    BTW, we just had a great 1-week “cruise” to the Magdalen Islands and back (from Montreal); have put an album of pix on Facebook (but I don’t think you participate).

    Cheers,

    David

  2. Marian Cumming says:

    Hope you have a wonderful trip Leslie. You were lucky with the weather in Seattle, I believe it’s the US city which gets the most rain. BTW there is a Chihuly exhibit at the ROM in Toronto at the moment, I think it runs until January. The chandeliers at the Hilton Lac Leamy are also his.

Leave a Reply

