Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji

I went to Fiji in 2007 and did a self guided tour of the town, stopping at the Fiji Museum and several parks and ending at the market. On a subsequent trip in 2010, I took a tour to the rainforest. Here is a link to my  blog:  https://lesliesh.wordpress.com/2010/11/19/suva-fiji/.  Today I walked to the gardens (photos) nearby the museum and presidential palace (photo) and then visited the handicraft market.  On my way, I saw a small exercise area on the side of the road (photo).  The city has grown quite a bit since my last visit. There are several large shopping malls and many of the old colonial buildings are being renovated. Unfortunately, this side of the island does not have any nearby beaches. For those and what you dream of being a typical Fiji vacation, you need to go further away to Nadi or Lautoka, which also are conveniently close to the international airport. I did visit Lautoka in 2013 and enjoyed a trip through the countryside to a beautiful botanical garden.

IMG_0143IMG_0140IMG_0145IMG_0125

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

